Posted by: yankeegirlguy | February 10, 2008

My New Favorite Toy

So I know I am about 5 years late to the game but I signed up for a Baseball-Reference.com subscription today.   Now I have been using this site for the past few years, but let me tell you the glory behind this site is its availability to track team and player specific situations.  For example (and for our Yankee Girl) I dumped in the following constraints in the search engine:

Bring me all situations of Shelly Duncan in 2007, at Yankee Stadium, with 2 outs, with RISP and versus Left Handed Pitchers where he hit a Home Run.  Below is a link to the results

http://www.baseball-reference.com/pi/shareit/AajW

It’s funny because I actually remember both of theses Home Runs, one was a game Yankee Girl and I attended once Shelley was brought up, and the other tied the game with 2 outs in the 9th.

Anyway as the season starts kicking into gear, this will be a tool that nerdy ol’ Yankee Guy will be using extensively.  And for those of you not too fond of stats – Don’t worry our Yankee Girl will be here to provide you with all her little anecdotes on how “Steroids were created so people could be half as good as Shelley,” and “Shelley Duncan’s tears cure cancer, but he never cries.”

Anyway, beyond my recent discovery it is the calm before the storm in Yankeeland.  I am intrigued to see how the Wang arbitration hearing goes and am mystified why in the world the Yankees would go to arbitration over a $600,000 difference.  Seems a little petty, maybe symbolic in some way?

In non-Yankee news, my Villanova Wildcats finally stopped their putrid 5 game losing streak with a 72-70 win over Seton Hall.   With them bumbling along to a NIT bid, opening day can’t come soon enough.

Just in case any of you have forgotten, Yankee Girl is completely enamored with our charismatic First Baseman, Shelley Duncan.  In-fact the below picture might make her a little hot and bothered.

Happy Sunday! T-Minus 4 Days!

https://i2.wp.com/withoutfeathers.us/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2007/07/shelley_duncan_2runs1.jpg
Leave a Reply

Categories

